H.R. No. 758

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The legacy of the late Joe K. Foster, the founding
- 2 board chair of El Paso Community College, is being recognized with
- 3 an endowed scholarship at the college in his name; and
- WHEREAS, A lifelong resident of El Paso, Mr. Foster was a
- 5 successful commercial realtor and a respected civic leader for more
- 6 than four decades; in 1968, he co-chaired a 100-member steering
- 7 committee to organize a petition drive for an election to create a
- 8 junior college district; after the voters approved establishing the
- 9 school, he led the EPCC board of trustees as its first chair, and
- 10 his service on the board spanned nearly a decade; he passed away in
- 11 2013; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Joe K. Foster Endowed Scholarship celebrates
- 13 Mr. Foster's central role in the creation of EPCC; thanks in part to
- 14 his efforts, the college today is a thriving institution with five
- 15 campuses that serve nearly 30,000 El Pasoans each year; in the
- 16 decades since the founding of the school, nearly 90,000 students
- 17 have graduated with degrees from the college; and
- WHEREAS, Joe K. Foster was a leader in the establishment of El
- 19 Paso Community College, helping to open the doors of opportunity to
- 20 countless fellow citizens, and this new scholarship in his name is a
- 21 fitting tribute to his vision, generosity, and hard work; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby commemorate the establishment of the Joe K.

H.R. No. 758

- 1 Foster Endowed Scholarship at El Paso Community College and
- 2 celebrate the life and legacy of Joe K. Foster; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the family of Joe K. Foster as an expression of high
- 5 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Fierro

TT	$\Box$	TAT	758
Н	R	$N \cap$	/ n x

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 758 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House