H.R. No. 815

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Ferris Independent School District is making a
- 2 positive difference in the local community by providing area youth
- 3 with a solid educational foundation on which to build; and
- WHEREAS, Serving approximately 2,700 students, Ferris ISD
- 5 seeks to foster a challenging and supportive learning environment
- 6 where young people are equipped to excel in every aspect of their
- 7 education; a rural district in northern Ellis County, it conducts
- 8 classes for prekindergarten through the 12th grade at its five
- 9 campuses; with an average teacher-to-student ratio of one to 18,
- 10 schools in the district are able to focus on individual needs and
- 11 provide the skills students need to be competitive in the
- 12 21st century workforce; and
- WHEREAS, Ferris ISD is ably guided by superintendent James
- 14 Hartman, and it also benefits from the leadership of its board of
- 15 trustees, which includes president Rico Rodriguez, vice president
- 16 Richard Sasser, secretary Lee Longino, and members Mike Moffitt,
- 17 Nancy Jane Salmon, and Nick Hamm; and
- WHEREAS, The administrators, teachers, staff, and school
- 19 board of Ferris ISD have helped to provide many young Texans with
- 20 the knowledge and skills they need to become productive members of
- 21 society, and the district is indeed deserving of special
- 22 recognition for its significant contributions; now, therefore, be
- 23 it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 815

- 1 Legislature hereby honor the Ferris Independent School District for
- 2 its service to area youth and extend to all those associated with
- 3 the district sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ferris ISD as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Ellzey

TT	_	TAT -	015
Н	R	$N \cap$	$\times$ 1 5

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 815 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House