H.R. No. 818

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Milford Independent School District is making a
2 positive difference in the local community by providing area youth
3 with a solid educational foundation on which to build; and

WHEREAS, Serving more than 200 students, Milford ISD seeks to 4 5 foster a challenging and supportive learning environment where young people are equipped to excel in every aspect of their 6 7 education; as a rural district, it conducts classes for prekindergarten through the 12th grade on a single campus; its 8 9 excellent academic program is supplemented by instruction tailored to meet a wide range of needs, including dyslexia, English as a 10 11 second language, and Title 1; in addition, it offers career, technology, and fine arts courses, as well as curriculum for the 12 gifted and talented; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Milford ISD is ably guided by superintendent Vernon 15 Orndorff, and it also benefits from the leadership of its board of 16 trustees, which includes president Kimberly Cook, vice president 17 Gary Wimbish, secretary Melva Wallace, and members Janice Wadley, 18 Russell Slaton, Carlos Phoenix, and Karen Powell; and

WHEREAS, The administrators, teachers, staff, and school board of Milford ISD have helped to provide many young Texans with the knowledge and skills they need to become productive members of society, and the district is indeed deserving of special recognition for its significant contributions; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 818

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor the Milford Independent School District 3 for its service to area youth and extend to all those associated 4 with the district sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Milford ISD as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Ellzey

H.R. No. 818

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 818 was adopted by the House on April 30, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House