H.R. No. 910

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Arlington Movin' Mavs
- 2 continued their tradition of excellence by winning the 2021
- 3 National Wheelchair Basketball Association men's intercollegiate
- 4 championship, claiming the school's ninth title; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Coming off a season cut short by the COVID-19
- 6 pandemic, the Movin' Mavs joined the other top collegiate
- 7 competitors on March 12 and 13 in Tuscaloosa, Alabama; in the
- 8 semifinals, the UTA team defeated Southwest Minnesota State
- 9 University by a score of 61-50 to punch its ticket to the NWBA
- 10 finale; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Squaring off against a talented team from the
- 12 University of Alabama with the title on the line, the Movin' Mavs
- 13 once again proved to be unstoppable; the squad took charge early,
- 14 building a double-digit lead by intermission; in the second half,
- 15 the UTA defense held strong, and when the buzzer sounded, the Movin'
- 16 Mavs triumphed by a final score of 66-51 to collect another national
- 17 crown; the team received an additional honor when the City of
- 18 Arlington declared March 30 as UTA Movin' Mavs National Champions
- 19 Day; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Freshman Amit Vigoda was named tournament Most
- 21 Valuable Player after leading all scorers in the final with 26
- 22 points; excelling with a true team effort, the Movin' Mavs also
- 23 received essential contributions throughout the year from the other
- 24 members of the roster: Issac Lipscomb, Vincent Dallaire, Corey

H.R. No. 910

- 1 Wilson, Bryce Cruz, Logan Saenz, Carrington Marendes, Ramiro
- 2 Cortez, Aaron Summerill, Alex Hummer, Issac Hummer, and Jakob
- 3 Gorton; these dedicated athletes benefited from the leadership of
- 4 head coach Douglas Garner and the support of trainer Shelly Taketa
- 5 and interns Julia Berrones and Riley Nix; and
- 6 WHEREAS, In winning a ninth championship, the UTA Movin' Mavs
- 7 have burnished their status as a basketball dynasty, and their
- 8 accomplishments are a source of great pride to the university and to
- 9 the team's many supporters in the Arlington community; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at
- 13 Arlington Movin' Mavs on winning the 2021 National Wheelchair
- 14 Basketball Association intercollegiate championship and extend to
- 15 the team's athletes, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 16 continued success; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for the Movin' Mavs as an expression of high regard by the
- 19 Texas House of Representatives.

Tinderholt

Н	R	$N \cap$	910

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 910 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House