H.R. No. 911

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Gordon Adams is retiring as judge of
- 2 the 169th District Court in Bell County on July 2, 2021, drawing to
- 3 a close an exemplary tenure that has spanned more than two decades;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, First appointed by Governor George W. Bush in 2000,
- 6 Judge Adams has since been elected to the bench six times, and he
- 7 has served as the local administrative district judge since
- 8 December 2012; prior to becoming a district judge, he served as an
- 9 associate judge for the Third Administrative Judicial Region; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to his community, Judge Adams has
- 11 also served as a member of the Killeen City Council from 1982 to
- 12 1984 and as mayor pro tempore of Killeen in 1983 and 1984; a valued
- 13 member of the Killeen Independent School District Board of Trustees
- 14 for nearly a decade, he served as the board president from 1989
- 15 until 1993; and
- WHEREAS, In retirement, Judge Adams plans to spend more time
- 17 with his family while continuing his judicial service as a
- 18 part-time retired senior district judge for the Third
- 19 Administrative Judicial Region; and
- WHEREAS, Demonstrating a commitment to the highest ideals of
- 21 his profession, Judge Gordon Adams has greatly benefited the
- 22 citizens of Bell County, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a
- 23 career well spent as he embarks on the next exciting endeavor of his
- 24 life; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 911

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Gordon Adams on his
- 3 retirement as judge of the 169th District Court and extend to him
- 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Judge Adams as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Buckley

Н	R	$N \cap$	911

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 911 was adopted by the House on May 8, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House