H.R. No. 1009

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Sugar Land Skeeters are taking the baseball
field in 2021 as the new Triple A affiliate of the Houston Astros;
and

WHEREAS, The Astros' acquisition of the Skeeters' minor 4 5 league franchise was approved by the Sugar Land City Council on April 20; the Skeeters will compete in the Pacific Coast League, and 6 7 the team will continue to play at Constellation Field through at least 2045; in November 2020, the Astros reached an agreement with 8 9 city officials and Major League Baseball to move their Triple A operation from Round Rock to Sugar Land; the Astros organization 10 11 now holds majority ownership in the Sugar Land team, which won two 12 championship titles during its tenure in the independent Atlantic League from 2012 to 2020; and 13

WHEREAS, After launching their inaugural campaign as a Houston affiliate on May 6 at Albuquerque, the Skeeters will host El Paso in their May 20 home opener at Constellation Field; the Sugar Land stadium is undergoing numerous renovations to enhance the experiences of players and fans, many of whom are avid Astros supporters; and

20 WHEREAS, Already a popular entertainment and tourism draw, 21 the Sugar Land Skeeters are poised to now assume an even larger role 22 in thrilling sports fans and helping grow the local economy as they 23 embark on an exciting new chapter in their history; now, therefore, 24 be it

1

H.R. No. 1009

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Sugar Land Skeeters on their 3 acquisition as the Triple A affiliate of the Houston Astros and 4 extend to all those associated with the baseball team sincere best 5 wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the Sugar Land Skeeters as an expression of high regard 8 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Jetton

H.R. No. 1009

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1009 was adopted by the House on May 14, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House