## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The girls' soccer team from Flower Mound High School 2 reached the pinnacle of success by winning the University Interscholastic League 6A state championship on April 16, 2021, in 3

4 Georgetown; and

contest; and

13

WHEREAS, After a stellar regular season in which they 5 compiled a 17-1-2 record and claimed the district title, the 6 7 Jaguars went on to tally playoff victories over Denton Guyer, South Grand Prairie, Prosper, and Northwest Eaton High Schools; in the 8 regional final, the team defeated hometown rival Marcus High 3-0, 9 earning a spot in the state tournament for the second time in school 10 11 history; Flower Mound then bested The Woodlands High School in the 12 semifinals, recording a decisive 4-0 win to advance to the title

14 WHEREAS, Squaring up against a talented team from Austin Vandegrift High School with the state crown on the line, the Jaguars 15 snapped a scoreless deadlock with a goal in the 54th minute; 16 Vandegrift answered moments later, however, to tie the game at 1-1; 17 the Flower Mound players retained their composure and blasted a 18 shot past the opposing goalkeeper with 15 minutes remaining for 19 20 what would prove to be the game winner; the Jaguar defense held strong for the remainder of the match to secure a 2-1 triumph and

21

22 the second state title in school history; and

23 WHEREAS, Both of the title game goals were scored by senior 24 forward Riley Baker, who was named the championship game Most

- 1 Valuable Player; Emma Hoang, Tatum Beck, Hallie Augustyn, Sydney
- 2 Becerra, and Skye Leach also enjoyed impressive performances and
- 3 joined Ms. Baker on the 6A All-Tournament Team; and
- WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Jaguars also
- 5 received valuable contributions throughout the year from the other
- 6 members of the roster: Peyton Whipple, Madison Schott, Marianne
- 7 Baltmanis, Kendal Nelson, Bella Hernandez, Savana Bickelhaupt,
- 8 Carly Gekas, Liberty Plasek, Emma Whiteley, Alex Willig, Carlie
- 9 Krueger, Avery Simmons, Nina Villalon, Hannah Augustyn, Ellie
- 10 Pourshah, Alexa Ryan, Rory Schank, and Maya Cordova; these
- 11 dedicated athletes were guided by head coach Misail Tsapos and
- 12 assistant coaches Kailey Jasso, Lexi Walters, and Becca Willett;
- 13 the team also benefited from the efforts of trainers Nikki Teutsch,
- 14 Cody Jenschke, Paul Dunham, Nya Callahan, and Lily Daniels and
- 15 managers Katherine Wahl and Reagan Standifer; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The Flower Mound Jaguars' championship victory
- 17 represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an
- 18 unwavering commitment to excellence, and the players and their many
- 19 supporters in the local community will treasure the memory of this
- 20 accomplishment for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate the Flower Mound High School girls'
- 23 soccer team on winning the 2021 UIL 6A state championship and extend
- 24 to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 25 the future; and, be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 27 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas

1 House of Representatives.

Parker

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1072 was adopted by the House on May 14, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House