By: Neave

H.R. No. 1084

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The football team from Lakehill Preparatory School 2 in Dallas closed out an unforgettable season by capturing the Texas 3 Association of Private and Parochial Schools Six-Man Division II 4 state championship on December 18, 2020; and

5 WHEREAS, Following an undefeated regular season, the 6 Warriors continued their outstanding performance in the playoffs, 7 racking up victories against Heritage Christian Academy, San 8 Jacinto Christian Academy, Live Oak Classical School, and Coram Deo 9 Academy to advance to the title game; and

WHEREAS, Returning to the state finale for the second year in 10 a row, Lakehill faced off against Allen Academy in what proved to be 11 12 a dramatic showdown; the Warriors struck early, going up 20-0 in the first quarter, but the Rams fought back to take the lead in the 13 14 second half; trailing by the score of 34-26, the Lakehill players staged a nine-play touchdown drive, including a crucial fourth-down 15 16 conversion at the Allen 16-yard line, and the successful two-point conversion kick tied the game; the Warriors regained possession 17 after an Allen punt and exploded on first down for a 62-yard 18 game-winning score; with the title on the line, the Lakehill 19 20 defense stopped Allen on fourth down to secure a 42-34 triumph and 21 the school's first state crown in six-man football; and

22 WHEREAS, In recognition of their outstanding play, seniors 23 Ryan Henry and Nathan Lewis and junior Mitchell Crow were named as 24 First-Team All-State honorees, and senior Keegan Clendenin and

1

H.R. No. 1084

1 junior Henry Hopkins were Second-Team All-State selections; the Warriors also benefited from the valuable contributions made 2 3 throughout the season by the other members of the roster: seniors Tristan Leach, William Leake, and Matthew McCall; juniors Landon 4 5 Burt, Marcus Gadsden, Will Gorman, Harris Jones, and Jaden Lambert; sophomore Ma'Ki Shaw; and freshmen Nicholas Blanchard, Austin 6 Boothe, Maxwell Byrd, Nicholas Meadows, Devon Moore, Leyton 7 8 Scruggs, Connor Wallace, and Jack Widhalm; these determined student athletes were ably guided by head coach Jairus Mitchell and 9 10 assistant coaches Phireese Jones, Jayson Smith, and Michael Jones; they also received strong support from athletic director Bob 11 12 Yttredahl, headmaster Roger Perry, and assistant headmaster Patti Frullo; and 13

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is a daunting task that requires countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and the members of the Lakehill Preparatory School football team may take justifiable pride in their accomplishments on the gridiron; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 20 Legislature hereby congratulate the Lakehill Preparatory School 21 football team on winning the 2020 TAPPS Six-Man Division II state 22 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff 23 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the Warriors as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2