By: Herrero

H.R. No. 1100

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Max Thompson is retiring as superintendent of 2 the Banquete Independent School District in June 2021, drawing to a 3 close a remarkable career in education that has spanned 33 years; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Boasting more than two decades of experience as a superintendent, Dr. Thompson first assumed the helm of Banquete ISD 6 7 in 2014; he has since developed a reputation for his wise and thoughtful guidance as well as for his willingness to do whatever is 8 9 necessary to ensure the smooth operation of the district, from driving a bus to working concession stands; moreover, he has 10 volunteered as the speech and debate coach for students in 7th 11 12 through 12th grade; and

WHEREAS, In the course of Dr. Thompson's career, two campuses under his leadership have been named National Blue Ribbon Schools, and he has received numerous accolades in recognition of his accomplishments, including the 2016 Superintendent of the Year award from the Texas Rural Education Association; and

18 WHEREAS, This esteemed administrator has also presented at state conferences, organized a public education rally, 19 and testified before the Texas legislature, and he has held regional 20 21 state-level positions with а number of educational and organizations; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Through his dedication, professionalism, and 24 commitment to excellence, Max Thompson has helped many young Texans

1

H.R. No. 1100

1 acquire the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed, and his 2 contributions will be remembered and appreciated for years to come; 3 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Max Thompson on his retirement as superintendent of the Banquete Independent School District and extend to him sincere best wishes as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Dr. Thompson as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

2