H.R. No. 1153

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mike Leyman has been reelected to the Mansfield City
- 2 Council; and
- WHEREAS, In fulfilling the duties of his office, Mr. Leyman
- 4 will draw on a wealth of valuable experience; he was first elected
- 5 to Place 2 on the Mansfield City Council in 2008, and after leaving
- 6 in 2011 to run for state office, he was reelected to the council,
- 7 Place 3, in 2018; he previously served the city as its chief of
- 8 police from 1979 to 1986, and during that time, he studied police
- 9 executive management at the FBI National Academy; from 2005 to
- 10 2013, he served as chief of police for the Mansfield Independent
- 11 School District; and
- 12 WHEREAS, A native of Ohio and a former U.S. Marine,
- 13 Mr. Leyman moved to Texas in 1969 and joined the Arlington Police
- 14 Department, where he rose from patrol officer to detective while
- 15 earning an associate's degree in law enforcement at Tarrant County
- 16 College; following his tenure as police chief in Mansfield, he
- 17 served with the Richardson Police Department as deputy chief of the
- 18 criminal investigation division and then as deputy chief of field
- 19 operations until his retirement in 2002; and
- WHEREAS, Each day, public servants improve the quality of
- 21 life for their fellow citizens in innumerable ways, and the
- 22 continuing efforts of Mike Leyman will help to make Mansfield an
- 23 even better place in which to live and work; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 1153

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Mike Leyman on his reelection to
- 2 the Mansfield City Council and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 3 a successful tenure; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Leyman as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Cook

H.R. No. 1153

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1153 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House