H.R. No. 1159

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Metrocrest Services is celebrating the 50th 2 anniversary of its founding in 2021, providing a fitting
- 2 anniversary of its founding in 2021, providing a fitting
- 3 opportunity to recognize the organization's myriad contributions
- 4 to the community; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1971, Metrocrest Services fosters
- 6 self-sufficiency and independent living for individuals, families,
- 7 and senior citizens who reside in Carrollton, Addison, Farmers
- 8 Branch, Coppell, and Dallas; equipping businesses and citizens with
- 9 the tools they need to help those around them, the agency offers a
- 10 comprehensive approach to social services that addresses gaps in
- 11 finances, employment, and nutrition in an effort to end poverty and
- 12 reduce inequities; and
- WHEREAS, Metrocrest's many initiatives include emergency and
- 14 medical aid, rent and utility bill assistance, budgeting education,
- 15 transportation, home-delivered meals, and a food pantry; moreover,
- 16 the organization distributes school shoes and supplies for students
- 17 and offers annual holiday programs; in 2020, Metrocrest served more
- 18 than 28,000 clients; and
- 19 WHEREAS, For five decades, Metrocrest Services has provided
- 20 unwavering support to some of the most vulnerable members of
- 21 society, and it is indeed a pleasure to join in celebrating this
- 22 significant milestone in the agency's history; now, therefore, be
- 23 it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 1159

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Metrocrest Services on its 50th
- 2 anniversary and extend to all those associated with the
- 3 organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Metrocrest Services as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Johnson of Dallas

H.R. No. 1159

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1159 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House