By: Metcalf H.R. No. 1237

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans and visitors from across the nation benefit 2 greatly from the dedicated efforts of the employees of the State 3 Preservation Board; and 4 WHEREAS, This vital state agency is responsible for the

preservation and maintenance of the historic buildings in the Capitol Complex, and it approves all construction, repair, and renovation work; it also operates the Bullock Texas State History Museum, the Texas State Cemetery, the Capitol Visitors Center and gift shops, and the Capitol Visitors Parking Garage; moreover, the agency provides educational and curatorial services, offers guided tours to the public, schedules and manages public events, and

11 12 maintains the Texas Governor's Mansion and its grounds; and 13 WHEREAS, Executive Director Rod Welsh oversees the State 14 Preservation Board with the able assistance of the executive staff, David L. Byers, Bob Cash, Erin Christensen, Christopher B. Currens, 15 16 Linda L. Gaby, Dale G. Hernandez, Alice B. James, Leslie Pawelka, Cindy Provine, and Ann M. Vay, as well as the skilled members of the 17 finance department, Lindsey A. Alvarado, Barbara Hanus, Angela 18 Knoll, Lisa Stockton, Laura Kelly, Deanna L. Wall, and Vashyra 19 20 Waller; the agency's work further benefits from the support of its 21 administrative personnel, Virginia Benavidez, Robert M. Davis, Dana Dennett, Jane A. Falkenberg, Patricia G. Hernandez-Ruiz, 22 23 Elithia Rangel, and Valerie Simpson, as well as IT staff members Andre Bygrave and Rosemary Rodriguez and support specialist Tony 24

- 1 Hubbard; and
- WHEREAS, The curatorial staff consists of Richard
- 3 T. Eisenhour, Paige A. Hester, and Michelle Lambing; educational
- 4 tours of the Capitol are offered by Joyce Aldridge, William
- 5 Anderson, Patricia Andrews, Richard Bronson, Jeffrey Crunk,
- 6 Analise Garcia, Nancy Korzilius, Margie Paz, Marsha Rainey, Karen
- 7 Rohe, Comfort K. Tysen, Derrick Wright, and Georgia Zunker; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Members of the public are welcomed to the Capitol
- 9 Visitors Center by staffers Charles Angel, Eric A. Boedy, Elizabeth
- 10 Garzone, Elizabeth K. Reid, Kandace D. Russell, and Jenna
- 11 Archuletta; the retail operation is overseen by Sheryl D. Baker,
- 12 Misha Karen Buckman, Michael J. Dillon, Carolyn Rzeppa, and Carlee
- 13 Hicks, and team members include Cynthia Cervenka, Arcilia Gonzalez,
- 14 Nancy Hennessy, and Angelia Rios Hennigan at the Capitol Visitors
- 15 Center gift shop, Patricia-Ann Bass, Tom Farley, Lisa Gentry, and
- 16 Tracy Lee King at the Capitol Extension gift shop, and Cady Bates,
- 17 Michael Coronado, Elizabeth A. Deutchman, Corrine Shepherd, and
- 18 Karen Morris at the retail warehouse; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The outstanding employees who are responsible for
- 20 the care and maintenance of the landmark buildings and monuments
- 21 are Steven E. Aguirre, Kevin M. Koch, Joe Medina, Christopher L.
- 22 Nunn, Rachel Santos, Araceli Ripper, and Daniel Scott of facilities
- 23 management, Roberto Carlos Benavides, Peter Castilleja, David
- 24 Flanegan, Bill Kleinebecker, Thomas Levitt, Chinh C. Nguyen, David
- 25 Pham, Subhash Kodinariya, Vincent Vazquez, Waleed Ibrahim, Eric
- 26 Tamayo, Vincent Tamayo, Gregory V. Taylor, Phillip Torres, and Alex
- 27 Villalobos of the maintenance crew, Laura G. Cuellar, Crisostoma

H.R. No. 1237

- 1 Espino-Recendiz, Aida Robles, Maria Rodriguez, Moon Kim, Ollie
- 2 Vaughn, Anthony Trammell, Ema Medal, Vanesa Rodriguez, Maria Elena
- 3 Alvarado, Sandra Delgado, Cindy Chavez, and Flora Torres of the
- 4 housekeeping team, and Antonio Delgado and Hector N. Medrano of the
- 5 groundskeeping staff; overseeing the operation of the Capitol
- 6 Visitors Parking Garage are Irene G. Arispe, Gladys Howard, Amanda
- 7 Remillard, and parking security Luke McNicholas and John Patrick
- 8 Wessels; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In addition to the commendable work of its Capitol
- 10 Complex employees, the State Preservation Board further serves the
- 11 public through its staff at the Bullock Texas State History Museum;
- 12 led by director Margaret Koch, the museum's administrative team
- 13 consists of Kate Betz, Javier Cavazos, Derek E. Lemons, and Kevin
- 14 Paris, and those employees handling communications, creative
- 15 services, external affairs, marketing, and membership are Emily
- 16 Morris, Anna Jane Riehl, Amanda Strittmatter, Gilbert Medina, Hunt
- 17 Wellborn, Leslie Adkins, and Daniel Rodriguez, with Lily Alpern and
- 18 Rachel Miller coordinating events, and Melissa Tamporello and Evan
- 19 Windham working in web and digital media; the museum's education
- 20 department consists of Shelby L. Barrera, Robin Davis, Angela
- 21 Kennedy, Kaitlin Lloyd-Leva, Rachel Manning, James McReynolds,
- 22 Janene Pearson, Leah Bush, Anna Maria Novoa, and Jessica Moriates,
- 23 and its exhibits staff is made up of Tony Beldock, Ed Bopp, Angela
- 24 Glasker, Elissa Graham, Mike Juen, Hannah Kemp, John L. Peel,
- 25 Stefan M. Ruff, Kathryn A. Siefker, and Thomas J. Wancho; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Visitor service representatives and coordinators
- 27 for the Bullock Museum include Kyle Albrecht, Joseph Almand,

H.R. No. 1237

- 1 Nicholas J. Byers, William Epperson, Kaitlin Kuan, Kellyn Lappinga,
- 2 Rosa Pedraza, Gloria Maria Ramirez, Patrick Sanderson, Craig
- 3 Simpson, Michael Strittmatter, Dorothy Walker, Eleria Patterson,
- 4 Brenna Veloz, Colleen Cawthon, Hilary Pearson, and Scotland
- 5 Washington, and the facility's famed IMAX theater is operated by
- 6 Shae Stanford, Joseph Kennemer, Steven Hays, Mathew Flowers, James
- 7 Jennings, and David Ripper; members of the museum's retail team
- 8 include Heidi P. Afkami, Michael Byers, Paula Dianne Talley,
- 9 Phillip Plyler, Melisa Geaslin, Kathryn Bohuslav, and Tayebeh
- 10 Masomian, and its maintenance and housekeeping crew consists of
- 11 Eric Avery, Freddie E. Flores, William Rittenhouse, Oralia Bautista
- 12 De Martinez, and Silbestre Cantu; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to the Capitol Complex and the Bullock
- 14 State History Museum, the SPB oversees the operation of the Texas
- 15 State Cemetery, which benefits from the support of staffers William
- 16 Erwin, Carlos Galvan, Jose Cruz Hernandez Puente, Nathan Stephens,
- 17 and Daniel Sutherland; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through their dedicated stewardship of a rich
- 19 legacy, the administrators and employees of the State Preservation
- 20 Board are rendering a vital service to the people of Texas and
- 21 introducing countless visitors to the remarkable story of the Lone
- 22 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby commend the staff of the State Preservation
- 25 Board for their exemplary service; and, be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 27 prepared for the State Preservation Board as an expression of high

H.R. No. 1237

1 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.