H.R. No. 1281

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Craig Thompson has enjoyed remarkable success as a
 horse trainer and as a competitor in National Cutting Horse
 Association events; and

WHEREAS, Working in sync with his horse, Oh Cay Felix, Mr. Thompson claimed his first NCHA Futurity Open Championship in 2006; five years later, riding a horse named Oh Miss Caroline, he repeated as futurity champion, becoming only the eighth person in NCHA history to secure two Futurity Open crowns; overall, he has won more than \$3 million in NCHA arenas during the course of his exceptional career; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Thompson and his wife, Sasha, own and operate 11 12 Craig Thompson Cutting Horses in Lufkin; the couple first met at a cutting competition in Brenham, and they later married and became 13 14 the proud parents of two sons, Chase and Catch; through the years, Mr. Thompson has drawn inspiration from his parents, Mike and Anne 15 Thompson, and his grandfather, Thomas Nichols, as well as from 16 numerous mentors; a man of faith and humility, he is admired for his 17 positive attitude, impeccable work ethic, and generous nature; and 18

WHEREAS, Mr. Thompson holds a business administration degree from Mississippi State University, and he has also worked in the poultry industry; and

WHEREAS, Craig Thompson has demonstrated outstanding skill and dedication in the pursuit of his professional goals, and his accomplishments indeed merit special recognition; now, therefore,

1

H.R. No. 1281

1 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Craig Thompson on his exemplary
achievements in horse training and in NCHA competitions and extend
to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Thompson as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 1281

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1281 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House