H.R. No. 1306

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Sam Houston State University football team
closed out a historic season by winning the 2020-2021 NCAA Division
I Football Championship Subdivision title; and

WHEREAS, The Bearkats posted a perfect regular-season ledger 4 5 and claimed their eighth Southland Conference crown to enter the FCS playoffs as the second seed; embarking on a thrilling 6 7 postseason run against top 10-ranked opponents, SHSU began by besting Monmouth University 21-15, sealing the win by intercepting 8 a pass in the end zone in the final minute of play; the team then 9 came from behind to dispatch North Dakota State University 24-20 in 10 11 the quarterfinals; and

12 WHEREAS, Playing in the semifinals on its Bowers Stadium home 13 field, SHSU met James Madison University on May 8; trailing by three 14 touchdowns at the half, the Bearkats erupted for 24 points in the third quarter and prevailed by the final score of 38-35; with the 15 16 victory, SHSU punched its ticket to the championship game for the first time since 2012, and it remained undefeated in FCS playoff 17 games hosted on its own turf, having won a total of 16 through the 18 19 years; and

20 WHEREAS, The Sam Houston State players battled No. 1 seed 21 South Dakota State University for the FCS crown on May 16 in Frisco; 22 in a contest beset by torrential rain and a lightning delay, the 23 Bearkats once again stormed back when the game was on the line; 24 trailing 21-17 with less than six minutes remaining, SHSU converted

1

## H.R. No. 1306

1 a series of clutch fourth-down plays on its last possession before 2 scoring on a 10-yard touchdown strike with 16 seconds left to clinch 3 the 23-21 triumph; the team celebrated the first national title in 4 program history and capped the year with an unblemished record of 10 5 wins and zero losses; and

6 WHEREAS, SHSU was led by Jequez Ezzard, the championship game 7 Most Outstanding Player, and Eric Schmid, the Southland Conference 8 Player of the Year; both were selected as FCS All-Americans, as were Jahari Kay and Colby Thomas; the Bearkats also received valuable 9 10 contributions throughout the year from the other members of the roster, and the players were guided by K. C. Keeler, the SLC Coach 11 12 of the Year and the all-time winningest coach in FCS playoff history; everyone associated with the Bearkats demonstrated great 13 14 resilience during an unforgettable year; the team was forced to 15 compete in the spring after the 2020 season was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and it also endured the hardships inflicted by 16 17 Winter Storm Uri in February 2021; and

18 WHEREAS, Winning a national title represents the culmination 19 of countless hours of training and an unwavering commitment to 20 excellence, and the Sam Houston State Bearkats may indeed reflect 21 with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Sam Houston State University football team on winning the 2020-2021 NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision title and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

2

H.R. No. 1306 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas

3 House of Representatives.

1

2

Bailes Metcalf Oliverson

H.R. No. 1306

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1306 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House