By: Bailes H.R. No. 1306

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Sam Houston State University football team

2 closed out a historic season by winning the 2020-2021 NCAA Division

3 I Football Championship Subdivision title; and

4 WHEREAS, The Bearkats posted a perfect regular-season ledger

5 and claimed their eighth Southland Conference crown to enter the

6 FCS playoffs as the second seed; embarking on a thrilling

7 postseason run against top 10-ranked opponents, SHSU began by

8 besting Monmouth University 21-15, sealing the win by intercepting

9 a pass in the end zone in the final minute of play; the team then

10 came from behind to dispatch North Dakota State University 24-20 in

11 the quarterfinals; and

WHEREAS, Playing in the semifinals on its Bowers Stadium home

13 field, SHSU met James Madison University on May 8; trailing by three

touchdowns at the half, the Bearkats erupted for 24 points in the

15 third quarter and prevailed by the final score of 38-35; with the

16 victory, SHSU punched its ticket to the championship game for the

17 first time since 2012, and it remained undefeated in FCS playoff

18 games hosted on its own turf, having won a total of 16 through the

19 years; and

14

20 WHEREAS, The Sam Houston State players battled No. 1 seed

21 South Dakota State University for the FCS crown on May 16 in Frisco;

22 in a contest beset by torrential rain and a lightning delay, the

23 Bearkats once again stormed back when the game was on the line;

24 trailing 21-17 with less than six minutes remaining, SHSU converted

H.R. No. 1306

- 1 a series of clutch fourth-down plays on its last possession before
- 2 scoring on a 10-yard touchdown strike with 16 seconds left to clinch
- 3 the 23-21 triumph; the team celebrated the first national title in
- 4 program history and capped the year with an unblemished record of 10
- 5 wins and zero losses; and
- 6 WHEREAS, SHSU was led by Jequez Ezzard, the championship game
- 7 Most Outstanding Player, and Eric Schmid, the Southland Conference
- 8 Player of the Year; both were selected as FCS All-Americans, as were
- 9 Jahari Kay and Colby Thomas; the Bearkats also received valuable
- 10 contributions throughout the year from the other members of the
- 11 roster, and the players were guided by K. C. Keeler, the SLC Coach
- 12 of the Year and the all-time winningest coach in FCS playoff
- 13 history; everyone associated with the Bearkats demonstrated great
- 14 resilience during an unforgettable year; the team was forced to
- 15 compete in the spring after the 2020 season was postponed due to the
- 16 COVID-19 pandemic, and it also endured the hardships inflicted by
- 17 Winter Storm Uri in February 2021; and
- WHEREAS, Winning a national title represents the culmination
- 19 of countless hours of training and an unwavering commitment to
- 20 excellence, and the Sam Houston State Bearkats may indeed reflect
- 21 with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate the Sam Houston State University
- 24 football team on winning the 2020-2021 NCAA Division I Football
- 25 Championship Subdivision title and extend to the team's players,
- 26 coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and,
- 27 be it further

H.R. No. 1306

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.