H.R. No. 1364

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, An exemplary student received well-deserved
- 2 recognition when Aiyana Minee Ponce was named a University of Texas
- 3 at El Paso Top Ten Senior for 2020; and
- WHEREAS, Presented by the UTEP Alumni Association, the award
- 5 recognizes the university's most promising graduating or recently
- 6 graduated seniors; honorees are chosen on the basis of multiple
- 7 criteria, including academic achievement, involvement, leadership,
- 8 and service, both in the community and on campus; and
- 9 WHEREAS, A cellular and molecular biochemistry major, Aiyana
- 10 Ponce participated in three 10-week research programs and presented
- 11 at the BUILDing SCHOLARS Symposium as well as at a number of
- 12 national conferences; moreover, she served as president of the UTEP
- 13 Medical Professions Organization, completed two travel abroad
- 14 programs, including one at a hospital in Argentina, and coauthored
- 15 an artistic research project; and
- WHEREAS, In recognition of her many accomplishments,
- 17 Ms. Ponce received a Leader of Mines Award from the UTEP Student
- 18 Engagement and Leadership Center in 2019; her future plans include
- 19 opening a clinic that supports underrepresented groups and working
- 20 to shape public policy; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Through the dedication she has demonstrated in all
- 22 her endeavors, Aiyana Ponce has built a strong foundation for
- 23 continued achievement, and she is indeed deserving of this
- 24 prestigious accolade; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1364

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

Legislature hereby congratulate Aiyana Minee Ponce on her receipt

of a 2020 Top Ten Seniors Award from the UTEP Alumni Association and

extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for Ms. Ponce as an expression of high regard by the Texas

House of Representatives.

Ortega

H.R. No. 1364

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1364 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House