H.R. No. 1371

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, An exemplary student received well-deserved

recognition when Ruben Aguirre was named a University of Texas at El

3 Paso Top Ten Senior for 2020; and

2

WHEREAS, Presented by the UTEP Alumni Association, the award

5 recognizes the university's most promising graduating or recently

6 graduated seniors; honorees are chosen on the basis of multiple

7 criteria, including academic achievement, involvement, leadership,

8 and service, both in the community and on campus; and

9 WHEREAS, Ruben Aguirre has excelled in his studies at UTEP,

10 where he is currently pursuing a degree in political science on a

11 pre-law track; he has served as co-founder of the UTEP Civil Rights

12 Timeline Project and as a campaign ambassador for a Texas

13 congressman, and he has also acquired valuable experience as a

14 legislative assistant in the Student Government Association and as

15 an undergraduate assistant for the university's president's office;

16 along the way, he took the opportunity to study at the Law School

17 Preparation Institute in the UTEP Patti and Paul Yetter Center for

18 Law, which helped him secure a federal courthouse internship and a

19 full tuition scholarship to the University of Notre Dame Law

20 School; and

21 WHEREAS, Through the dedication he has demonstrated in all

22 his endeavors, Ruben Aguirre has built a strong foundation for

23 continued achievement, and he is indeed deserving of this

24 prestigious accolade; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1371

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

Legislature hereby congratulate Ruben Aguirre on his receipt of a

2020 Top Ten Seniors Award from the UTEP Alumni Association and

extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for Mr. Aguirre as an expression of high regard by the

Texas House of Representatives.

Ortega

H.R. No. 1371

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1371 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House