H.R. No. 1372

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, An exemplary student received well-deserved
- 2 recognition when Flor Alejandra Urbina Araiza was named a
- 3 University of Texas at El Paso Top Ten Senior for 2021; and
- WHEREAS, Presented by the UTEP Alumni Association, the award
- 5 recognizes the university's most promising graduating or recently
- 6 graduated seniors; honorees are chosen on the basis of multiple
- 7 criteria, including academic achievement, involvement, leadership,
- 8 and service, both in the community and on campus; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Flor Araiza grew up in Juárez, Mexico, in humble
- 10 circumstances; overcoming language and financial challenges to
- 11 attend UTEP, she has majored in mechanical engineering, determined
- 12 to surmount barriers to Latinas in that field; her academic
- 13 performance has brought her many awards and opportunities, among
- 14 them a study abroad scholarship that enabled her to travel to
- 15 Prague, an invitation to the Google Hispanic Student Leadership
- 16 Summit, and membership in the Society of Women Engineers Leadership
- 17 Development Program and the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi; she has
- 18 completed internships at two Fortune 500 companies, Cummins and
- 19 Microsoft; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Through the dedication she has demonstrated in all
- 21 her endeavors, Flor Araiza has built a strong foundation for
- 22 continued achievement, and she is indeed deserving of this
- 23 prestigious accolade; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 1372

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Flor Alejandra Urbina Araiza on her
- 2 receipt of a 2021 Top Ten Seniors Award from the UTEP Alumni
- 3 Association and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Araiza as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Ortega

H.R. No. 1372

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1372 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House