H.R. No. 1387

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Jose Armendariz of John J. Pershing Elementary
School has been named the 2021 Primary Teacher of the Year in the
Dallas Independent School District; and

WHEREAS, A solid education is vital for young people to become successful and productive adults, and those men and women who dedicate their careers to teaching make a positive difference in the lives of their students and in the greater community; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Armendariz first joined the faculty of John J. 8 9 Pershing Elementary as a bilingual teacher in 2004; over the course of his 17 years with the school, he has had an impact in almost every 10 11 teaching assignment on the campus, and he played an instrumental 12 role in reestablishing the Pershing Lions PTA; since 2016, he has been a member of the Dallas ISD Bilingual English as a Second 13 14 Language Cadre, and he has been featured in educational programming through the Univision television network; and 15

16 WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at El Paso, 17 where he earned a master's degree in business administration, 18 Mr. Armendariz worked for three years at a U.S. Consulate before 19 beginning his career as an educator; and

WHEREAS, Jose Armendariz exemplifies the passion, determination, and innovative spirit that are the hallmarks of our best teachers, and he has set a standard of excellence to which all in his profession may aspire; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

1

H.R. No. 1387

Legislature hereby congratulate Jose Armendariz on his selection as
the 2021 Primary Teacher of the Year in the Dallas Independent
School District and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
success with his important work; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Armendariz as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Turner of Dallas

H.R. No. 1387

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1387 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House