H.R. No. 1429

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Youth Revive in Dallas is dedicated to providing
- 2 access to civic education to students in low-income communities;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 2013, Youth Revive strives to close the
- 5 "civic empowerment gap," or the disparity in community engagement
- 6 between students from different socioeconomic backgrounds; during
- 7 the 2019 to 2020 school year, there were more than 270 participants
- 8 in the organization's programs, which teach students a number of
- 9 valuable skills, such as networking, conflict resolution, and
- 10 public speaking; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Adrian McConnell, the executive director of Youth
- 12 Revive, launched the Ignite Me Action Civics curriculum in 2015 to
- 13 provide character and civic education in schools; a semester-long
- 14 program, Ignite Me culminates in C.A.P. Day, when students present
- 15 their action projects to offer solutions to real issues affecting
- 16 their communities; in addition, Youth Revive offers further
- 17 opportunities for civic education through its Citizen Redefined and
- 18 Civic Saturday programs; and
- 19 WHEREAS, With the goal of inspiring young people from
- 20 underprivileged backgrounds to engage in their communities, Youth
- 21 Revive has helped to change countless lives for the better, and all
- 22 those associated with this outstanding organization are indeed
- 23 deserving of special recognition for their contributions; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1429

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor Youth Revive for its work to provide civic
- 3 education to students in low-income communities and extend to the
- 4 organization and its participants sincere best wishes for the
- 5 future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Youth Revive as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Crockett

H.R. No. 1429

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1429 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House