H.R. No. 1438

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, San Antonio-based newspaper La Prensa Texas has
- 2 served the Hispanic community for more than a century; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Established in 1913, the publication is considered
- 4 the oldest bilingual newspaper in the Lone Star State; it was ranked
- 5 as the most widely circulated Spanish-language newspaper in the
- 6 country for many years and had an international readership; today,
- 7 it enjoys wide circulation throughout South Texas, and during such
- 8 recent challenges as the COVID-19 pandemic and the February 2021
- 9 winter storm and blackout, the dedicated staff worked tirelessly to
- 10 maintain operations without interruption in order to provide timely
- 11 updates for its audience; and
- 12 WHEREAS, La Prensa Texas became a nonprofit corporation in
- 13 August 2020 under the leadership of Leonard Rodriguez and Yvette
- 14 Tello; the organization has focused on bridging the digital divide
- 15 that hampers opportunity for Hispanics in the Alamo City, and it
- 16 reaches residents via radio, television, and digital platforms, as
- 17 well as a weekly printed edition; it maintains partnerships with TV
- 18 network Telemundo and radio station KROV-FM to promulgate Hispanic
- 19 viewpoints in the general media market; and
- 20 WHEREAS, A venerable source of news and information, La
- 21 Prensa Texas has kept pace with the rapid changes in media
- 22 technology while continuing to serve as an important voice for its
- 23 community; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas

H.R. No. 1438

- 1 Legislature hereby honor La Prensa Texas for its contributions and
- 2 extend to all those associated with the organization sincere best
- 3 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for La Prensa Texas as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Campos

H.R. No. 1438

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1438 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House