H.R. No. 1553

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, West Texas A&M University achieved great 2 distinction by winning its first-ever meat science national 3 championship at the 2020 Meat Science Quiz Bowl, held on August 1 4 and 2; and

5 WHEREAS, Agriculture students from West Texas A&M competed 6 virtually against teams from 12 other schools in the event, which 7 has been hosted by the American Meat Science Association since 8 2002; the quiz bowl requires participants to demonstrate a breadth 9 of knowledge about such topics as meat industry history, muscle 10 structure and function, food safety regulations, microbiology, and 11 meat grading; and

12 WHEREAS, Guided by coaches Dr. Loni Lucherk and Travis 13 Tilton, two WTAMU squads, the Maroon and White teams, competed in 14 the 2020 double-elimination tournament; the Maroon team, composed 15 of Becca Grimes, Jared Young, Zach McDonough, and Jake Gillespie, 16 advanced through the rounds with victories over Oklahoma State, 17 Texas A&M, and Texas Tech Universities and ultimately prevailed 18 over the University of Florida to claim the national crown; and

WHEREAS, Winning a national championship represents the 19 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering 20 21 commitment to excellence, and the talented and dedicated agriculture students of West Texas A&M University may take 22 23 justifiable pride in this outstanding achievement; now, therefore, 24 be it

1

H.R. No. 1553

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate West Texas A&M University on 3 winning the national championship at the 2020 Meat Science Quiz 4 Bowl and extend to the school sincere best wishes for continued 5 success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the WTAMU team members as an expression of high regard 8 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Price

H.R. No. 1553

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1553 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House