H.R. No. 1555

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The West Texas A&M University rodeo team continued a 2 proud tradition of success with its outstanding performances over 3 the course of the 2021 season; and

WHEREAS, Forty members from around the country compete in the WTAMU program, which came into existence more than a quarter century ago and has produced four regional champions and four College National Finals Rodeo qualifiers in the past five years alone; the Buffaloes enjoy tremendous support from the Texas Panhandle community and the university and were awarded over 20 scholarships in 2020; and

11 WHEREAS, West Texas A&M was paced in 2021 by Hayden Cape, who 12 was second in Southwest Region team roping heeling and will compete at the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association Finals in June; 13 14 excelling in team roping all year, he won the title in Levelland, won the long round and was second in average and points in both 15 16 Sweetwater and Big Spring, and placed second overall in Stephenville; and 17

WHEREAS, The Buffaloes received stellar showings throughout their campaign; in the team's first event in Odessa, Kallen Johnson and Owen Wahlert earned berths in the calf roping finals, each winning points and respectively placing in the average and long round; additionally, at Big Spring, Mr. Johnson was awarded points and placed in round and average in tie-down roping; and

24 WHEREAS, At Levelland, Brian Gillen achieved tie-down roping

1

H.R. No. 1555

points, winning the long round and placing in average for WTAMU, and breakaway roper Shelby Espenson secured points and placed in the long round; team roper Weston Hollowell won the long round and was second in the average and earned points in Sweetwater, and he placed in the long round at Stephenville; in Snyder, Calli Montague placed in average and earned points in breakaway roping, and Amie Hennen won points and placed in the barrel racing long round; and

8 WHEREAS, West Texas A&M also received valuable contributions from the other members of the roster: Lexi Bartley, Cameron Bass, 9 10 Winston Brown, Lucy Gordon, Ericka Heckman, Cade Holden, Kooper Huddleston, Elena Jenow, Dylan Jones, Konnar Knotwell, Georgie 11 12 Lage, Madison Milligan, Cooper Morris, Madison Pritchard, Blake 13 Ramsey, Jace Roselle, Sierra Sharp, Jayden Shearer, and Ashlyn 14 Williams; these talented student-athletes were ably led by head 15 coach Raymond Hollabaugh and assistant coach Jordan Jo Fabrizio; 16 and

WHEREAS, The WTAMU Buffaloes have furthered their school's exceptional record of achievement in rodeo, and they may indeed reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas 21 Legislature hereby congratulate the West Texas A&M University rodeo 22 team on its successful 2021 season and extend to the squad sincere 23 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Price

2

H.R. No. 1555

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1555 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House