By: Price H.R. No. 1555

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The West Texas A&M University rodeo team continued a
- 2 proud tradition of success with its outstanding performances over
- 3 the course of the 2021 season; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Forty members from around the country compete in the
- 5 WTAMU program, which came into existence more than a quarter
- 6 century ago and has produced four regional champions and four
- 7 College National Finals Rodeo qualifiers in the past five years
- 8 alone; the Buffaloes enjoy tremendous support from the Texas
- 9 Panhandle community and the university and were awarded over 20
- 10 scholarships in 2020; and
- 11 WHEREAS, West Texas A&M was paced in 2021 by Hayden Cape, who
- 12 was second in Southwest Region team roping heeling and will compete
- 13 at the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association Finals in June;
- 14 excelling in team roping all year, he won the title in Levelland,
- 15 won the long round and was second in average and points in both
- 16 Sweetwater and Big Spring, and placed second overall in
- 17 Stephenville; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The Buffaloes received stellar showings throughout
- 19 their campaign; in the team's first event in Odessa, Kallen Johnson
- 20 and Owen Wahlert earned berths in the calf roping finals, each
- 21 winning points and respectively placing in the average and long
- 22 round; additionally, at Big Spring, Mr. Johnson was awarded points
- 23 and placed in round and average in tie-down roping; and
- 24 WHEREAS, At Levelland, Brian Gillen achieved tie-down roping

- 1 points, winning the long round and placing in average for WTAMU, and
- 2 breakaway roper Shelby Espenson secured points and placed in the
- 3 long round; team roper Weston Hollowell won the long round and was
- 4 second in the average and earned points in Sweetwater, and he placed
- 5 in the long round at Stephenville; in Snyder, Calli Montague placed
- 6 in average and earned points in breakaway roping, and Amie Hennen
- 7 won points and placed in the barrel racing long round; and
- 8 WHEREAS, West Texas A&M also received valuable contributions
- 9 from the other members of the roster: Lexi Bartley, Cameron Bass,
- 10 Winston Brown, Lucy Gordon, Ericka Heckman, Cade Holden, Kooper
- 11 Huddleston, Elena Jenow, Dylan Jones, Konnar Knotwell, Georgie
- 12 Lage, Madison Milligan, Cooper Morris, Madison Pritchard, Blake
- 13 Ramsey, Jace Roselle, Sierra Sharp, Jayden Shearer, and Ashlyn
- 14 Williams; these talented student-athletes were ably led by head
- 15 coach Raymond Hollabaugh and assistant coach Jordan Jo Fabrizio;
- 16 and
- 17 WHEREAS, The WTAMU Buffaloes have furthered their school's
- 18 exceptional record of achievement in rodeo, and they may indeed
- 19 reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate the West Texas A&M University rodeo
- 22 team on its successful 2021 season and extend to the squad sincere
- 23 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 26 House of Representatives.