By: Price H.R. No. 1684

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the West Texas A&M University chapter of
- 2 the National Broadcasting Society won numerous awards in the 58th
- 3 Annual National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media
- 4 Competition; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the National Electronic Media
- 6 Association, the contest invites members from colleges and
- 7 universities across the country to compete in various media
- 8 divisions, including News and Information, Sports, Entertainment
- 9 Production, and Advertising, and the winners are announced at the
- 10 organization's national convention; and
- 11 WHEREAS, At the March 2021 convention, the West Texas A&M
- 12 University chapter of the National Broadcasting Society was named
- 13 Chapter of the Year, and the group's members won five grand prizes
- 14 in the categories of Audio Promo, Audio Studio or Live Performance
- 15 Segment, Video Comedy Segment, Graphic Design/Animation, and Best
- 16 Zoom Chapter Meeting; moreover, the students earned 11 honorable
- 17 mentions in the categories of Video News Package, Video
- 18 Instructional/Corporate, Promotional Production, Video Sports
- 19 Segment, Video Program Opener, Videography/Cinematography, Drama
- 20 Program Script, Student Academic Paper, and Production During a
- 21 Pandemic; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Rachel Widder was recognized as Alpha Epsilon Rho
- 23 Member of the Year, and Jordan Conde was awarded Student Member of
- 24 the Year honorable mention; this outstanding group also benefits

H.R. No. 1684

- 1 from the valuable contributions of members Jordan Unfred, Ashley
- 2 Venable, Sophia Britto, Jeanine Fabbri, Karee Belmares, Corrin
- 3 Davis, Elizabeth Ragan, and Jamie Abbott; and
- 4 WHEREAS, With their exceptional showing in the National
- 5 Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition, the members of
- 6 the West Texas A&M University chapter of the National Broadcasting
- 7 Society have brought great credit to their school, and they may take
- 8 justifiable pride in their accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the West Texas A&M
- 11 University chapter of the National Broadcasting Society on their
- 12 remarkable success in the 2021 National Undergraduate Student
- 13 Electronic Media Competition and extend to them sincere best wishes
- 14 for the future; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.