H.R. No. 1765

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Southeast Fort Worth, Inc., is dedicated to
- 2 promoting economic development in an area that has long been
- 3 underserved in this regard; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Founded in 2000, SEFWI collaborates with
- 5 neighborhood organizations, governmental entities, and other
- 6 stakeholders to improve economic opportunity in southeastern Fort
- 7 Worth; under the leadership of president Sharon Douglas and her
- 8 predecessor, Stacy Marshall, the organization has assessed needs in
- 9 the area and identified options for the strategic development of
- 10 the workforce and of retail and other businesses; and
- 11 WHEREAS, SEFWI helps affordable housing developers
- 12 understand and meet the needs of families while accessing tax
- 13 credits and favorable financing; in addition, it raises awareness
- 14 of the area's large, talented labor pool and business-friendly
- 15 environment, as well as the low cost of living, open-space
- 16 amenities, and attractive neighborhoods with good schools; and
- 17 WHEREAS, In cooperation with area stakeholders, SEFWI seeks
- 18 to transform neighborhoods holistically; it also improves the local
- 19 business climate by promoting financial literacy and supporting
- 20 small enterprises; and
- 21 WHEREAS, For more than two decades, Southeast Fort Worth,
- 22 Inc., has fostered prosperity in the community it serves, and its
- 23 endeavors have contributed to an improved quality of life for all;
- 24 now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1765

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor Southeast Fort Worth, Inc., for its
- 3 efforts in behalf of the community and extend sincere best wishes
- 4 for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Collier

H.R. No. 1765

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1765 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House