By: Smithee

H.R. No. 1784

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The West Texas A&M University men's basketball 2 program achieved a new level of success during the 2020-2021 3 season, as the Buffs advanced all the way to the NCAA Division II 4 national championship game; and

5 WHEREAS, WT compiled a 12-2 record in the regular season and 6 then cruised to three straight double-digit victories in the Lone 7 Star Conference tournament to capture the league title and clinch a 8 berth in the Division II NCAA tournament; and

9 WHEREAS, After defeating Dallas Baptist University and Lubbock Christian University, WT bested Daemen College to earn a 10 trip to the Final Four in Evansville, Indiana; squaring off against 11 12 Lincoln Memorial University on March 25, WT was down by nine points at the break but rallied in the second half to turn the game into a 13 14 nip-and-tuck battle; trailing by two points with 13 seconds remaining, the Buffs missed a shot that would have tied the game, 15 16 but guard Zach Toussaint corralled the rebound beyond the arc and threw up a last-second three-point attempt; the buzzer sounded with 17 the ball in the air, and when it fell through the net, WT claimed a 18 thrilling 87-86 triumph; moving on to the title game against 19 Northwest Missouri State University, the Buffs gave their all but 20 21 saw their season come to an end just one win short of the national 22 championship; and

23 WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Buffs 24 received valuable contributions throughout the year from each

1

H.R. No. 1784

member of the roster: John Brown, Qua Grant, JT Warren, Jon'il 1 Fugett, Torian Harris, Parker Nielsen, Kavon Booker, Joel Murray, 2 3 Mr. Toussaint, Ugo Obineke, Calvin Fugett Jr., Hayden Blankley, and Cameron Bell; these dedicated athletes were guided by head coach 4 5 Tom Brown, associate head coaches Chris Gove and Quincy Henderson, and student assistant Ty Bryant, and the players also received 6 support from athletic trainer Devin Neill, assistant athletic 7 8 performance coach Matt Segura, and student manager Derrick Gahimbare; and 9

10 WHEREAS, With their exceptional skill and unwavering 11 commitment to excellence, the West Texas A&M University Buffs have 12 earned a place among the top Division II basketball teams in the 13 country, and their achievements are a source of great pride for the 14 university's students, alumni, and fans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the West Texas A&M University men's basketball team on advancing to the 2021 NCAA Division II championship game and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the Buffs as an expression of high regard by the Texas 22 House of Representatives.

2