By: Smithee H.R. No. 1976

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Faith Anderson of Amarillo High School achieved

2 great distinction by winning a bronze medal in the 5A 148-pound

3 division at the 2021 University Interscholastic League Wrestling

4 State Tournament; and

5 WHEREAS, Following a 2020 season in which she claimed a

6 district championship in the 138-pound division and qualified for

7 the state meet, Ms. Anderson returned in top form for her senior

8 campaign; competing at 148 pounds, she was named Most Outstanding

9 Wrestler at the Region 1-5A championship after besting each of her

10 opponents and once again punching her ticket to the state

11 competition; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Anderson joined the top high school competitors

13 in Texas at the state meet, held at the Berry Center in Cypress on

14 April 23; in her opening match, she defeated Alexis Stephenson from

15 Comal Canyon High School to advance to the semifinal round;

16 although she was defeated in her second match, she rallied to

17 vanquish Adijah Khamaladeen of Corpus Christi King High School,

18 capturing the bronze medal; she finished with a stellar overall

19 record of 22 wins and just one loss and benefited throughout the

20 year from the able guidance of head coach Gregg Clear and assistant

21 coaches Jose Alvarez and Christian Marquez; and

22 WHEREAS, By medaling in the state's premier showcase for high

23 school wrestlers, Faith Anderson has ably represented her school

24 and community, and she will long cherish her memories of this

H.R. No. 1976

- 1 outstanding accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Faith Anderson on winning a bronze
- 4 medal in the 5A 148-pound division at the 2021 UIL Wrestling State
- 5 Tournament and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 6 success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Ms. Anderson as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.