H.R. No. 1999

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Joseph Sotelo of Hillcrest High School has been
- 2 named the Dallas Independent School District 2021 Principal of the
- 3 Year for the secondary level; and
- WHEREAS, Under Mr. Sotelo's leadership, Hillcrest High
- 5 offers both a collegiate academy and an International Baccalaureate
- 6 Program, and it is the only high school in the district with this
- 7 distinction; moreover, Mr. Sotelo has overseen a number of
- 8 improvements to the campus, including the addition of 21 new
- 9 classrooms, two new gyms, and a weight room, as well as the
- 10 renovation of several classrooms; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Mr. Sotelo began his career with the district in
- 12 2013 as an assistant principal at Sunset High School, where he
- 13 guided both the English and science departments; in 2015, he was
- 14 promoted to principal of Benjamin Franklin Middle School, and
- 15 within 18 months, it was authorized as an International
- 16 Baccalaureate campus; and
- WHEREAS, Through his unwavering commitment to the students,
- 18 faculty, and staff of Hillcrest High School, Joseph Sotelo has led
- 19 the way in fostering a supportive and challenging educational
- 20 environment, one that gives students a vision of what they might
- 21 attain and equips them with skills that will help them to build
- 22 fulfilling and productive lives; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Joseph Sotelo on being named the

H.R. No. 1999

- 1 Dallas Independent School District 2021 Principal of the Year for
- 2 the secondary level and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 3 continued success in his important work; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Sotelo as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Turner of Dallas

H.R. No. 1999

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1999 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House