## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, William Beaumont Army Medical Center in El Paso is 2 marking the 100th anniversary of its founding on July 1, 2021, providing an ideal opportunity to recognize this noteworthy 3 institution for its rich legacy of service; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Named after the famed U.S. Army surgeon, William Beaumont Army Medical Center first opened on July 1, 1921; for two 6 7 decades, it functioned as the station hospital for Fort Bliss and as a general hospital for the western portion of the army's 8th Service 8 Command, and its original staff consisted of 6 medical officers, 2 9 nurses, and 30 medical corpsmen; during World War II, the facility 10 11 treated prisoners of war, and it served as a teaching hospital where 12 research was conducted on medical issues specific to soldiers; and 13 WHEREAS, William Beaumont Army Medical Center has provided 14 state-of-the-art medical care to not only military personnel and families, but also residents of El Paso; in recent years, the 15 hospital has played an important role in the aftermath of the 2019 16 mass shooting in El Paso and during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic; 17 looking ahead to the future, the medical center is preparing to open 18 a new campus spanning 1.3 million square feet, which will feature 19 135 beds, 10 operating rooms, and 30 specialty clinics; and 20 21 WHEREAS, For a century, William Beaumont Army Medical Center 22 has been a resource of inestimable value to the El Paso community, 23 it is fitting to recognize the hospital's significant

contributions during this milestone year; now, therefore, be it

24

H.R. No. 2003

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of William
- 3 Beaumont Army Medical Center and extend to the hospital's
- 4 administrators, medical personnel, and staff sincere best wishes
- 5 for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the hospital as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

González of El Paso

H.R. No. 2003

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2003 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House