H.R. No. 2099

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Across the Lone Star State, many Texans will

celebrate El Día de los Muertos in the autumn of 2021; and

WHEREAS, El Día de los Muertos, or the Day of the Dead, is a

traditional Mexican holiday observed November 1 and 2; a blend of

Mesoamerican ritual, European religion, and Spanish culture, the

7 of the Aztecs and other peoples of pre-Columbian America; it is a

holiday has roots that go back 3,000 years, to the ancient cultures

8 time to recognize death as a natural part of the cycle of life, and

9 festivities often include facial makeup, costumes, and revelry; and

10 WHEREAS, During El Día de los Muertos, it is believed that the

border between the worlds of the living and the dead dissolve, and

12 the souls of the dead can return to eat, drink, dance, and make

13 music with their loved ones; traditionally, participants welcome 14 the departed by building makeshift altars called *ofrendas* and

15 adorning them with offerings of flowers, photographs, favorite

16 foods, candles, and other objects; and

WHEREAS, Among the most prominent symbols of the holiday are calacas (skeletons) and calaveras (skulls), and in 1910, the

19 satirical cartoonist José Guadalupe Posada created La Calavera

20 Catrina, or the Elegant Skull, a female skeleton with makeup and

21 fancy clothes which has become one of the most iconic images of the

22 holiday; and

6

11

WHEREAS, Each year on El Día de los Muertos, friends and

24 family gather in a celebration that is both solemn and joyful, and

H.R. No. 2099

- 1 the holiday in 2021 represents a fine opportunity for all Texans to
- 2 honor the dead and rejoice in another year of life; now, therefore,
- 3 be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commemorate El Día de los Muertos 2021 and
- 6 extend to all who participate sincere best wishes for a meaningful
- 7 and memorable holiday.

Neave

H.R. No. 2099

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2099 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House