H.R. No. 2102

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Both the boys' and girls' wrestling teams from 2 Randall High School in Amarillo reached the pinnacle of success by sweeping the 5A titles at the 2021 University Interscholastic 3 League Wrestling State Tournament, held on April 23 in Cypress; and 4 5 WHEREAS, After clinching the district and regional crowns, the members of the boys' team dominated the field at the state 6 tournament to capture their third consecutive championship; the 7 Raiders collected four individual gold medals, with state titles 8 9 being claimed by Ashton Bennert at 106 pounds, Andres Mendoza at 126 pounds, Jared Gallegos at 145 pounds, and Branson Britten at 182 10 11 pounds; Mr. Britten closed out the year with a perfect 29-0 record and earned Outstanding Wrestler honors at both the regional and 12 state tournaments; and 13 14 WHEREAS, Also contributing to the impressive showing by the Randall boys' team was Aidan Medina, who captured the silver medal 15 at 120 pounds, Kale Farrington, the silver medal winner at 170 16 pounds, and Patrick Perea, who earned the bronze medal at 152 17 pounds; in addition, Jesse Perea finished fourth at 132 pounds, 18 Malaiki Owens was fifth at 160 pounds, and Nathan Guzman competed at 19 20 195 pounds; and 21 WHEREAS, En route to their first state championship, the Lady Raiders were led by three medal winners; both Avery Stout in the 22 23 95-pound division and Jaryn Ortegon in the 102-pound weight class

became gold-medal-winning state champions; in the 110-pound

24

1 division, Avery Martinez earned the silver medal; and WHEREAS, Both teams also received valuable contributions 2 3 from the other members of their rosters; the boys' squad includes Armondo Mendoza, Steven Rodriguez, Conner Bolton, Kyler Carlson, 4 5 Kellus Kiser, Logan McHam, Elijah Pena, Ethan Mendoza, Antonio Mendoza, Parker Peterson, Jameson Hudgens, Jonathan Catandig, 6 Kaden Juarez, Ethan Purdy, Jarret Diggs, Adam Teague, Logan McDow, 7 8 Kordon Newton, Macklin Houser, Carson Barklay, Issac Donahue, Tate Tiffin, Ace Giesbrecht, Trey Gallow, Broderick Massengill, 9 10 Johnathan Elliot, Kason Hamilton, Jacob Balila, Javien Beavers, Julian Arias, and Achilles Guadarrama; the girls' squad includes 11 12 Sierra Back, Anaya Bela, Aaliyah Bravo, Aubreyanna Chavarria, Keygan Grubb, Kennedy Juarez, Alexis Lucero, Gracie Martinez, 13 14 Micaela Martinez, Elena Munoz, Elizabeth Munoz, Kayla Page, 15 Samantha Ramirez, J'Nessa Reynoso, and Zoe Velasquez; and WHEREAS, These determined student-athletes were ably guided 16 17 by head coach David Quirino Jr., who was named Coach of the Year at the regional and state tournaments and whose success with the 18 19 Randall teams follows his own achievements in the sport, which were highlighted by a flawless 29-0 record in 1990; the teams also 20 21 benefited from the contributions of assistant coaches Randy Scott, Mark Fortner, and Luis Canales, as well as managers Aubrey Osage, 22 David Quirino III, Kara Castro, and Caroline Crocker-Kozar; and 23 24 WHEREAS, The Raider and Lady Raider wrestlers have excelled through skill, hard work, and an enduring commitment to excellence, 25 26 and they are a source of tremendous pride to their classmates and

their many supporters in the local community; now, therefore, be it

27

H.R. No. 2102

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 87th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Randall High School boys' and
- 3 girls' wrestling teams on winning 5A titles at the 2021 UIL
- 4 Wrestling State Tournament and extend to the athletes, coaches, and
- 5 staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the teams as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Smithee

H.R. No. 2102

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2102 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2021, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House