```
2
   relating to the I-27 Advisory Committee.
3
         BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
4
         SECTION 1. Subchapter H, Chapter 201, Transportation Code,
   is amended by adding Section 201.623 to read as follows:
5
6
         Sec. 201.623. I-27 ADVISORY COMMITTEE. (a) In this
   section:
7
              (1) "Advisory committee" means the I-27 Advisory
8
   Committee established under this section.
9
               (2) "Feasibility study" means the study on the
10
   Ports-to-Plains Corridor conducted by the department as required by
11
   Chapter 756 (H.B. 1079), Acts of the 86th Legislature, Regular
12
   Session, 2019.
13
14
              (3) "Ports-to-Plains Corridor" means the highways
15
   designated as the Ports-to-Plains Corridor under Section 225.069.
         (b) The I-27 Advisory Committee is established to:
16
              (1) provide the department with information on
17
   concerns and interests along the Ports-to-Plains Corridor; and
18
19
              (2) advise the department on transportation
   improvements impacting the Ports-to-Plains Corridor.
20
21
         (c) The advisory committee is composed of:
22
              (1) 10 members, one of whom represents each of the
   following counties and is the county judge of the county or an
23
   elected county official or the administrator of the county road
24
```

AN ACT

1

1	department designated by the county judge of the county:
2	(A) Dallam County;
3	(B) Howard County;
4	(C) Lubbock County;
5	(D) Midland County;
6	(E) Moore County;
7	(F) Potter County;
8	(G) Sherman County;
9	(H) Tom Green County;
10	(I) Val Verde County; and
11	(J) Webb County;
12	(2) seven members, one of whom represents each of the
13	following municipalities and is the mayor of the municipality or
14	the city manager or an assistant city manager designated by the
15	<pre>mayor of the municipality:</pre>
15 16	<pre>mayor of the municipality:</pre>
16	(A) Amarillo;
16 17	(A) Amarillo; (B) Big Spring;
16 17 18	<pre>(A) Amarillo; (B) Big Spring; (C) Del Rio;</pre>
16 17 18 19	<pre>(A) Amarillo; (B) Big Spring; (C) Del Rio; (D) Laredo;</pre>
16 17 18 19 20	<pre>(A) Amarillo; (B) Big Spring; (C) Del Rio; (D) Laredo; (E) Lubbock;</pre>
16 17 18 19 20 21	<pre>(A) Amarillo; (B) Big Spring; (C) Del Rio; (D) Laredo; (E) Lubbock; (F) Midland; and</pre>
16 17 18 19 20 21 22	<pre>(A) Amarillo; (B) Big Spring; (C) Del Rio; (D) Laredo; (E) Lubbock; (F) Midland; and (G) San Angelo;</pre>
16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23	(A) Amarillo; (B) Big Spring; (C) Del Rio; (D) Laredo; (E) Lubbock; (F) Midland; and (G) San Angelo; (3) three members who are economic development
16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24	(A) Amarillo; (B) Big Spring; (C) Del Rio; (D) Laredo; (E) Lubbock; (F) Midland; and (G) San Angelo; (3) three members who are economic development professionals, to be selected based on geographic segments that

1 (5) one member who is a business representative from 2 the international trade industry; and 3 (6) one member who is a business representative from 4 the energy industry. 5 (d) The members of the advisory committee described by Subsection (c)(2) shall appoint the members of the advisory 6 committee described by Subsections (c)(3), (4), (5), and (6) by 7 8 majority vote. 9 (e) An advisory committee member serves until the member: 10 (1) ceases to hold the underlying position that 11 qualifies the member for service on the committee; or 12 (2) resigns. 13 A vacancy on the advisory committee is filled: (1) for a vacancy for a position qualified under 14 Subsection (c)(1) or (2), by the person holding the elected 15 position vacated by the former member or another person designated 16 by the person holding the elected position vacated by the former 17 18 member, in accordance with Subsection (c)(1) or (2), as applicable; 19 and 20 (2) for a vacancy for a position described by Subsection (c)(3), (4), (5), or (6), by majority vote of the 21 advisory committee members described by Subsection (c)(2). 22 23 (g) The advisory committee shall elect by majority vote of 24 the committee: 25 (1) a chair to serve as the committee's presiding officer; and 26

(2) a vice-chair to serve as the committee's presiding

27

- 1 officer in the absence of the chair.
- 2 (h) The advisory committee shall meet at least twice each
- 3 state fiscal year and at such other times as requested by the
- 4 department or the chair. The advisory committee may meet remotely
- 5 or by teleconference as determined by the chair or the department.
- 6 (i) An advisory committee member is not entitled to receive
- 7 compensation for service on the committee or reimbursement for
- 8 <u>expenses incurred in the performance of official duties as a member</u>
- 9 of the committee.
- 10 (j) The commission may adopt rules to govern the operations
- 11 of the committee that are consistent with existing commission rules
- 12 and do not conflict with this section.
- 13 (k) All advisory committee meetings, whether remote or in
- 14 person, must be open to the public.
- 15 (1) Chapter 2110, Government Code, does not apply to the
- 16 advisory committee.
- 17 SECTION 2. (a) The members of the I-27 Advisory Committee
- 18 established under Section 201.623, Transportation Code, as added by
- 19 this Act, described by Section 201.623(c)(2), Transportation Code,
- 20 as added by this Act, shall make the appointments required by that
- 21 section not later than October 1, 2021.
- 22 (b) The I-27 Advisory Committee established under Section
- 23 201.623, Transportation Code, as added by this Act, shall meet on or
- 24 before the 30th day after the completion of appointments under
- 25 Subsection (a) of this section.
- SECTION 3. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
- 27 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as

S.B. No. 1474

- 1 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this
- 2 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
- 3 Act takes effect September 1, 2021.

S.B. No. 1474

President of the Senate Speaker of the House
I hereby certify that S.B. No. 1474 passed the Senate or
April 23, 2021, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.
Secretary of the Senate
I hereby certify that S.B. No. 1474 passed the House or
May 18, 2021, by the following vote: Yeas 121, Nays 16, two
present not voting.
Chief Clerk of the House
Approved:
Date
Governor