SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 32

In Memory of Ezequiel P. Laurel

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Ezequiel P. Laurel, who died December 11, 2020, at the age of 85; and
WHEREAS, A native Laredoan, Ezequiel Laurel was born on

WHEREAS, A native Laredoan, Ezequiel Laurel was born on April 29, 1935; he attended Saint Joseph Academy, and he earned a diploma from Martin High School; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Laurel had a rewarding career in public service and was an esteemed community leader; he served as the Webb County tax assessor-collector for 25 years and later served in the El Paso Central Appraisal District for 14 years; he was active as a volunteer in his community and was a supporter of Habitat for Humanity for many years; and

Habitat for Humanity for many years; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Laurel shared 36 years of marriage with his beloved wife, Bebe Caballero Laurel; he was blessed with 10 children, Rick Laurel, Ezequiel P. Laurel Jr., Steven Laurel, Geoffrey Laurel, Laurence Laurel, Christopher Laurel, Michael Laurel, Alan Laurel, Judith Laurel, and John Thomas Laurel, and his four grandchildren were a source of much pride and joy for him; and

WHEREAS, Ezequiel Laurel was a man of spiritual devotion, and he inspired those who knew him through his commitment to public service; he was beloved by many, and he leaves behind memories that will long be cherished by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Ezequiel P. Laurel; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Ezequiel Laurel.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 9, 2021, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate