SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 101

WHEREAS, March 2, 2021, marks the 185th anniversary of the adoption of the Texas Declaration of Independence and the day when proud Texans proclaimed an independent republic that would stand on its own for nearly a decade before joining the Union as the 28th state; and

WHEREAS, On March 1 of that fateful year, the delegates to the Convention of 1836 met at Washington-on-the-Brazos in bitterly cold weather to set about forging a new nation; even as they gathered to issue the call for independence, the defenders of the Alamo were preparing to face the final assault by the troops of General Antonio López de Santa Anna, and Texas revolutionaries had reached a critical point in their campaign for greater political freedom; and

WHEREAS, Adopted on March 2, the Texas Declaration of Independence included numerous grievances against the Mexican government and boldly concluded with the words: "that the people of Texas do now constitute a free, Sovereign, and independent republic, and are fully invested with all the rights and attributes which properly belong to independent nations"; and

WHEREAS, Mere days later, the men of the Alamo made their heroic last stand, and nearly seven weeks after that, General Sam Houston and his 900 troops defeated Santa Anna's army at San Jacinto to bring Mexican rule to an end and achieve independence for Texas; and

WHEREAS, March 2, Texas Independence Day, marks one of the most pivotal days in Texas history; celebrated annually across

S.R. No. 101

the state, this day provides an opportunity for all Texans to reflect on the freedoms they enjoy and to honor the courage and vision of the men and women who brought independence to the people of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commemorate Texas Independence Day 2021 and pay tribute to the memory of those individuals who founded the Republic of Texas.

Kolkhorst

Alvarado	Hancock	Paxton
Bettencourt	Hinojosa	Perry
Birdwell	Huffman	Powell
Blanco	Hughes	Schwertner
Buckingham	Johnson	Seliger
Campbell	Lucio	Springer
Creighton	Menéndez	Taylor
Eckhardt	Miles	West
Gutierrez	Nelson	Whitmire
Hall	Nichols	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 2, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate