SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 132

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Charles Moser, who has been inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame by the Texas Press Association; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious honor is awarded to those who have been credited with outstanding achievements in journalism and with significant contributions to the newspaper industry and their communities; and

WHEREAS, Charles Moser served with distinction for more than 40 years as editor and publisher of the *Banner-Press*; he began his distinguished career in journalism while attending Sam Houston State University, and after his service in the United States Air Force Reserve, he worked at newspapers along the Texas Gulf Coast before joining the *Banner-Press* as editor and publisher in 1970; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership, the Banner-Press became known for quality journalism and editorial content, and he earned numerous awards for his work, including a Lifetime Achievement in Print Journalism honor from the Sam Houston State University Journalism Department; he served as director and president of the Texas Daily Newspaper Association and as director of the Texas Press Association; and

WHEREAS, He has served as a mentor to countless young journalists, and he has been active in a wide range of civic organizations in the Brenham community; it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition for the positive impact

he has had on the newspaper industry in Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend Charles Moser on his long and distinguished career in journalism and extend congratulations to him on his induction into the Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Kolkhorst

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 11, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate