SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 173

WHEREAS, Judson STEAM Academy in the Longview Independent School District has been named a 2021 Texas School to Watch by the National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform and the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals; and

WHEREAS, The National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform is an alliance of educators, researchers, national associations, and officers of professional organizations and foundations dedicated to improving academic and developmental outcomes for young adolescents; each year, the forum collaborates with TASSP through the Schools to Watch program to recognize high-performing Texas schools that are academically excellent, developmentally responsive, socially equitable, and structured for continuous improvement; and

structured for continuous improvement; and WHEREAS, Ably led by principal Melanie Pondant, Judson STEAM Academy serves more than 500 students in grades six through eight, offering a holistic, rigorous curriculum and opportunities for global explorations and inquiry; the academy is one of approximately 50 schools in the state to receive the Texas Schools to Watch designation; and

Texas Schools to Watch designation; and WHEREAS, A quality education is critical to the continuing vitality of the Lone Star State, and the faculty and staff of Judson STEAM Academy have attained impressive results through their dedication to creating a learning environment that helps students to reach their full potential; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby congratulate Judson STEAM Academy on its selection as a Texas School to Watch and that all those associated with the campus be extended sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the school as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 22, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate