SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 191

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the citizens of Collin County in celebrating Collin County Day at the State Capitol on March 24, 2021, with a virtual event hosted in partnership with the Collin County Chambers; and

WHEREAS, A thriving county in the heart of North Texas, Collin County is one of the largest and fastest-growing counties in the state and is home to an estimated 980,000 residents; and

WHEREAS, Plano, the county's largest city, is home to six Fortune 1000 companies; McKinney, the county seat, along with the communities of Allen, Frisco, Wylie, Richardson, Murphy, Prosper, Fairview, Celina, Lucas, Parker, Anna, Melissa, Farmersville, Lavon, Blue Ridge, and other small towns are together recognized as a charming blend of country and cosmopolitan; and

WHEREAS, Collin County's highly educated workforce creates a strong and vibrant economy, and the county is a leader in job growth; more than 90 percent of its workforce past the age of 25 hold a high school diploma, and roughly half have earned at least a bachelor's degree; the county's excellent public school systems led *Forbes* magazine to rank its schools among the best in the nation; and

WHEREAS, Collin County offers scenic beauty and outstanding recreational opportunities, and its inviting and friendly residents extend an open welcome to individuals, families, and businesses; the citizens of Collin County work to preserve the best of their rich past as they look forward to a bright and promising future; now, therefore, be it

1

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend the citizens of Collin County on their many contributions to the growth and prosperity of the Lone Star State and extend to all best wishes for a rewarding Collin County Day event; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Paxton, Springer

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 24, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate