## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 205

## In Memory of Fallen Health Care Workers

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the many Texans in the medical community who lost their lives in service as frontline workers during the COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, Careers in health care require unwavering integrity, commitment, and compassion by those who choose to serve in the medical field, and those people make a positive difference in the lives of countless individuals; whether they serve as physicians, nurses, technicians, or administrators, these trusted care providers work each day to help heal the sick and hurting, and their exemplary service is an inspiration to Texans across the state; and

WHEREAS, Hundreds of Texas families are mourning the loss of treasured loved ones who contracted the coronavirus while helping to protect their fellow citizens in service as COVID-19 frontline workers; and

WHEREAS, In addition to caring for the sick, many of our fallen health care providers gave generously of their time to charitable causes and community organizations; their civic contributions have helped improve lives and communities throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, It is the responsibility of all Texans to honor the memory of those in the medical community whose lives were tragically lost to COVID-19 and to offer support to the families of those fallen heroes; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby honor physicians and other members of the Texas medical community who died after selflessly serving on the front lines of the COVID-19 pandemic and extend sincere condolences to their families, friends, and loved ones; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the families of our fallen health care workers.

Buckingham, Campbell, Schwertner

Alvarado	Hinojosa	Paxton
Bettencourt	Huffman	Perry
Birdwell	Hughes	Powell
Blanco	Johnson	Seliger
Creighton	Kolkhorst	Springer
Eckhardt	Lucio	Taylor
Gutierrez	Menéndez	West
Hall	Miles	Whitmire
Hancock	Nelson	Zaffirini
	Nichols	

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 30, 2021, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate