## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 220

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Reverend George V. Clark for his 51 years of loyal service as pastor of Mount Zion Baptist Church in Austin; and

WHEREAS, The Reverend George V. Clark was called to the leadership of Mount Zion Baptist Church in March of 1970; over the last 51 years, he has ministered to the temporal and spiritual needs of countless people; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership, the church has continued to grow and to play a vital role in the life of the East Austin community; the congregation moved into a new building with seating for 1,200 worshippers, and the church provides 10 single-family housing units for senior citizens; and WHEREAS, Pastor Clark holds leadership positions in a

WHEREAS, Pastor Clark holds leadership positions in a number of denominational organizations, including the Saint John Regular Baptist District Association, the Missionary Baptist General Convention of Texas, and the National Baptist Convention of America International, Incorporated; he has also served with such groups as the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the Texas Public Employees Association, the Texas Rehabilitation Commission, and the Boy Scouts of America; and

WHEREAS, A man of spiritual depth and devotion, this beloved pastor has performed countless ceremonies and has prayed with members of his congregation in times of hardship and bereavement and rejoiced with them in times of prosperity; it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby join the members of Mount Zion Baptist Church in commending the Reverend George V. Clark on 51 years of exceptional service to his church and his community; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Eckhardt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2021.

## Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate