SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 236

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the 29 Texas A&M University students who are providing valuable support to the 87th Texas Legislature while gaining experience in public service as members of the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public Policy Internship Program; and

WHEREAS, For three decades, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program has sent student interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they work on a wide array of issues; their strong background and interest in agriculture and natural resources allow them to offer specialized knowledge to legislators; the program was founded in response to a request by a member of the United States Congress for an intern who could assist his office with these matters, and it has since grown to include numerous congressional offices as well as the United States House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture, the United States Department of Agriculture, and offices on the state level during legislative years; approximately 1,000 students have participated in semester-long internships; and

WHEREAS, The Public Policy Internship Program, established in 1999, works with various colleges and departments to create an interdisciplinary environment for comprehensive academic training, research, and policy programming; interns in the nation's capital and in Austin serve in a variety of settings that align with their academic and professional goals; some 1,000 students have participated in semester-long internships; and

1

WHEREAS, Led by director Stephanie Webb, both internship programs select their highly qualified and dedicated participants through a rigorous application process; in addition to academic achievement, students must demonstrate their potential to take full advantage of the opportunities for scholarly and professional development as well as the desire to serve our state and nation; and

WHEREAS, The 2021 Texas A&M University policy interns serving in Austin are Edwin "Dru" Barkis, Alexis Casiano, Elizabeth Crisp, Sterling Crowdus, Alicia Dixon, Skyllar Duncan, Richard "Eric" Ewing, Patrick "Henry" Featherston, Natalie Flanagan, Kyrie Garlic, Tatum Hausman, Abigail Jablon, Emily Jacobs, Ryan Jones, Brittany Keller, Eleanor Korth, Mihir Kulkarni, Hanna Lisenbe, Christopher Livaudais, Gabriella Mata, Shruthi Murali, Kyler Murphy, Brittany Reed, Elizabeth Schneider, Whitney Sloan, Grace Swift, Victoria Torres, Nekaybaw Watson, and Mariam Zaidi; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy and Public Policy Internship Programs have helped exceptional students deepen their understanding of governmental operations while developing professional skills and networks, and alumni have gone on to make vital contributions and assume leadership roles in a variety of arenas; the outstanding young people who are giving of their time and talents throughout this legislative session can indeed take pride in their achievements and their service to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby recognize the Texas A&M University Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public Policy Internship Program and commend the current participants for their diligence and commitment; and, be it further

2

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the students as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Creighton

		Destation
Alvarado	Hinojosa	Paxton
Bettencourt	Huffman	Perry
Birdwell	Hughes	Powell
Blanco	Johnson	Schwertner
Buckingham	Kolkhorst	Seliger
Campbell	Lucio	Springer
Eckhardt	Menéndez	Taylor
Gutierrez	Miles	West
Hall	Nelson	Whitmire
Hancock	Nichols	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 12, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

3