SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 258

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Cynthia Walker, who retired as an employee of the Texas Department of Transportation on August 31, 2020, after more than 35 years of distinguished state service; and

WHEREAS, Cynthia Walker began serving the Texas Department of Transportation as a travel counselor I at the Gainesville Travel Information Center in 1984; after earning national certification, she rose to the positions of travel counselor II, III, and IV, and in 2005 she was promoted to lead worker; she retired as an information specialist III in the Travel Information Division; and

WHEREAS, Cynthia's numerous accomplishments include completing a three-year tourism college program and a capstone project that qualified her as a certified tourism executive; she served a two-year term as an Achieving Service Excellence instructor, and she was nominated by her peers and selected to receive the Roadrunner Award for Exceptional Service by a travel counselor; and

WHEREAS, Cynthia's career also includes six years with the Texas Department of Human Services, and wherever she served, Cynthia handled her wide-ranging responsibilities with exceptional care and dedication; she was respected and admired by her colleagues, and her presence at the Texas Department of Transportation is greatly missed: now, therefore, be it

her colleagues, and her presence at the Texas Department of Transportation is greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend Cynthia Walker on her outstanding career and on her many contributions to the state and extend to her hest wishes in all her future endeavors; and he it further

her best wishes in all her future endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Springer

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 14, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate