SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 281

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the people of Grapevine in celebrating the grand opening of the Grapevine Main Station on April 24, 2021; and

WHEREAS, In 2006, the citizens of Grapevine voted to develop a commuter rail system in the city, and as funds were generated, it was decided that a grand rail station be built on the city's historic Main Street; city leaders chose the firm of Architexas to create a building that was reminiscent of historic American train stations and that shined a light on the important role railroads played in the city's history; and

WHEREAS, Grapevine Main Station is built in the ornate Italianate Renaissance Revival style with complementary Prairie School influences; exterior features include a 150-foot tower with an observation deck and four tower clocks; and

WHEREAS, The interior of this impressive structure features the expansive Harvest Hall, which has a 40-foot stenciled wood ceiling with a skylight, expressive steel trusses, a European-style dining hall, and elaborate mosaic-tiled floors; artist Haley Ryan created a mural featuring historic Grapevine citizens and vignettes, and SaxonLynn Arts produced an exterior mural of Puffy the Grapevine Vintage Rail Road Engine; and

WHEREAS, The Peace Plaza at Grapevine Main Station will provide year-round entertainment and educational opportunities that will enrich the quality of life for the people of North Texas and be a source of enjoyment for visitors from around the world; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend the citizens of Grapevine on their decision to expand and improve the city's transportation opportunities and extend to them best wishes for a memorable Grapevine Main Station grand opening; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Nelson, Hancock

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 19, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate