## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 288

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Elva Estrada, who recently retired from the Del Mar College Board of Regents after 14 years of outstanding service; and

WHEREAS, Elva Estrada joined the Del Mar College Board of Regents in November of 2006, and she brought a wealth of relevant experience to her position as a regent; her background in the field of education included 35 years of experience in the roles of teacher, instructional supervisor, assistant principal, and principal at the elementary and secondary levels; and

WHEREAS, Known for her quiet confidence and diplomatic qualities, she played an important role in the passage of two successful bond referendums that addressed capital improvement programs for the college to focus on providing the most advanced facilities and learning resources to Coastal Bend residents; and

WHEREAS, She chaired the Feria de las Flores Scholarship Program and the Christmas Posada Program, and she organized the annual Dr. Hector P. Garcia Texas State Recognition Day event; she has long been active in a wide range of professional and civic organizations, including the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas, the League of United Latin American Citizens, the Westside Business Association, and the Association of Community College Trustees; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary educator and administrator, she is respected and admired by her colleagues and members of the Corpus Christi community, and her presence on the Del Mar College Board of Regents will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

1

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend Elva Estrada for her exceptional service on the Del Mar College Board of Regents and extend to her best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 21, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate