## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 337

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Duncanville High School boys' basketball team, which won the 2021 University Interscholastic League Class 6A state championship; and

WHEREAS, The Duncanville Panthers won the program's fifth state title and completed a historic run to become the school's first back-to-back boys' basketball state champions; over the last three seasons, the Panthers have won 19 consecutive playoff games, and the team finished the current season with a record of 29-1; and

WHEREAS, These young student athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance over the course of the school year, and team members can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Team members are: Zhuric Phelps, Ronald Holland, C. J. Ford, Omari Ford, Caleb Jones, Rasaun Collier, Aric Demings, Jackson Prince, Kaden Banks, Andre Kanu, Juan Reyna, Colin Simmons, Davion Sykes, Cameron Barnes, DeCannon Wickware, and Damon Nicolas; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach David Peavy, associate head coach Kevin Woods, varsity assistant coach Neiman Ford, and assistant coaches Daniel Moore, Jay Cosme, and Charles Hill, the Panthers developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Duncanville High School and the people of North Texas are proud of the Panthers for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend the team members and coaching staff of the Duncanville High School boys' basketball team on their outstanding season and extend congratulations to them on winning the 2021 Class 6A state championship; and, be it further

the 2021 Class 6A state championship; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 3, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate