## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 389

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Capitol Land and Livestock on the occasion of its 75th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Capitol Land and Livestock was founded in 1946 by Eugene Schwertner; one of the largest cattle dealers in the United States, the company is still owned and managed by members of the Schwertner family; and

WHEREAS, Capitol Land and Livestock is headquartered in Schwertner, Texas, and procures cattle throughout the state and in Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana; the business serves a unique role within the industry by operating through a hub system that enables the company to prepare cattle in a matter of hours for shipment to buyers around the world and allows for the efficient assembly and sorting of hundreds of cattle each day; and

WHEREAS, In addition to buying and selling cattle, the company also offers a weaning program, Schwertner Select, which allows calves to graze in their natural habitat during the weaning process; the methods employed in the program reduce stress on the calves and add value to customers' cattle, and the company has weaned over 100,000 calves each year for the past three decades; and

WHEREAS, For 75 years, Capitol Land and Livestock has played a significant role in making Texas a leader in cattle ranching and farming, and it is truly fitting that the company receive special recognition as it reaches this milestone in its history; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 389

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend Capitol Land and Livestock on its many contributions to the cattle industry in the Lone Star State and extend to its owners and employees best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the company as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 10, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate