SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 407

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Chimney Creek Ranch on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of family ownership; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1876, Chimney Creek Ranch was purchased by G. R. Davis in 1920; his daughter, Robbie L. Davis, and T. Edgar Johnson were married under a pecan tree on the ranch that same year, and when Mr. Davis died in 1955, he bequeathed the ranch to his daughter; the Johnsons' daughter, Mary Frances, later inherited the ranch; and

WHEREAS, Since 1957, members of the Waller family have played an important role in managing the ranch and in implementing its conservation policies; in 1991 and 2004, the ranch was named the Outstanding Conservation Ranch by the Natural Resources Conservation Service, and in 2005, Robert Waller was named Outstanding Resident Conservation Rancher; and

WHEREAS, Chimney Creek Ranch is home to multiple Official Texas Historical Markers, including those for the Smith Station, the Bud Matthews Switch, and the Goodnight-Loving Trail; the ranch has also received the Lone Star Land Steward Award from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department; and

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department; and
WHEREAS, The natural assets and ecological diversity of our state depend greatly on careful stewardship by its landowners, and the owners and managers of Chimney Creek Ranch deserve recognition for their outstanding care and preservation of this beautiful piece of land; now, therefore, be it

of this beautiful piece of land; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th
Legislature, hereby commend the descendants of the G. R. Davis
family on their dedicated administration of the historic Chimney
Creek Ranch and extend to them best wishes for continued success;
and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the ranch and as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate