## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 414

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Mayor Janet Moerbe for 33 years of outstanding public service to the people of La Grange; and

WHEREAS, Janet Moerbe began her distinguished career in public service in 1988 as a member of the La Grange City Council; she became mayor of the city in 2001; and

WHEREAS, Under her leadership, the city made great strides in upgrading and beautifying its parks, and she is noted for the role she played in the creation of the park and gazebo at the Fayette Public Library; and

Fayette Public Library; and

WHEREAS, In addition, she served for many years as an elementary school teacher in the La Grange Independent School District, and she has been active in a wide range of civic and philanthropic organizations; she has been a volunteer for the Museum League, the Saint Mark's Hospital Auxiliary, and the AMEN food pantry, and she has been a member of the Casino Arts Association and the Daughters of the Republic of Texas; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary public servant, she is respected and admired by her colleagues and area citizens, and her leadership as mayor of La Grange will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend Mayor Janet Moerbe on her exceptional service to the people of La Grange and extend to her best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Kolkhorst

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2021.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate