SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 456

WHEREAS, The University of Houston has provided the Texas Legislature with an impressive group of Fellows from its Hobby School of Public Affairs during the 87th Session; and

WHEREAS, The Hobby Fellowship program was launched in 2013 to give undergraduate students the opportunity to work as full-time interns in the Texas Capitol; each Fellow is assigned to the office of a state legislator and helps support its operations by attending meetings and hearings, interacting with constituents and other stakeholders, and carrying out a range of other functions; in addition to gaining valuable experience in the field of public service, they learn more about the legislative process and the issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated students who have served as Hobby Fellows during the 87th Legislature are Christian Aguirre, Mary Brewster, Faye Germia, Phillip Gutierrez, Wasiq Javed, Matthew Lair, Miguel Macias, and Mike Negreros; and

WHEREAS, Through their hard work and commitment to excellence, the 2021 Hobby Fellows have rendered invaluable service to their respective legislative offices, and they are indeed deserving of special recognition for their efforts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend the Fellows from the University of Houston Hobby School of Public Affairs for their outstanding contributions to the Texas Legislature and extend to them sincere

best wishes for continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the 2021 Hobby Fellows as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Miles, Alvarado, Whitmire

Bettencourt	Hancock	Paxton
Birdwell	Hinojosa	Perry
Blanco	Huffman	Powell
Buckingham	Hughes	Schwertner
Campbell	Johnson	Seliger
Creighton	Kolkhorst	Springer
Eckhardt	Lucio	Taylor
Gutierrez	Menéndez	West
Hall	Nelson	Zaffirini
	Nichols	

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 27, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate