SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 473

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes great pride in honoring the Sam Houston State University football team for winning the 2021 national championship in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football Championship Subdivision; and

WHEREAS, The Sam Houston State University Bearkats prevailed despite heavy thunderstorms and early game deficits to seal their 23-21 championship game against number-one seeded South Dakota State University at the Toyota Center in Frisco; the riveting game ended with only 16 seconds left on the clock and resulted in the first Football Championship Subdivision national title for Sam Houston State University and for Texas since the tournament's inception; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the season, the team faced obstacles due to COVID-19 restrictions, athletic facility renovations, and the massive February snowstorm; team members were able to overcome these challenges, and the Bearkats enjoyed notable victories against undefeated Big South champion Monmouth University and eight-time national champion North Dakota State University; and

WHEREAS, The Bearkats have honed their unparalleled skills under the superior guidance of head coach K. C. Keeler, who is the first coach to win a national championship in the FCS subdivision at two schools and is the winningest postseason coach in FCS history; and

WHEREAS, Sam Houston State University and Texans across the state are immensely proud of this exceptional football team

for its impressive season and fine sportsmanship; all team members are deserving of special recognition for their contributions to the team's historic achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend the Sam Houston State University football team members, coaches, and staff for the Bearkats' outstanding season and extend congratulations to them on winning the 2021 NCAA Division 1 FCS national championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner, Miles

Alvarado	Hancock	Nichols
Bettencourt	Hinojosa	Paxton
Birdwell	Huffman	Perry
Blanco	Hughes	Powell
Buckingham	Johnson	Seliger
Campbell	Kolkhorst	Springer
Creighton	Lucio	Taylor
Eckhardt	Menéndez	West
Gutierrez	Nelson	Whitmire
Hall		Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 27, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate